A Blank Canvas

Since I can remember, it’s been a tradition for me to start every new year with a painting. Today, I will prime a blank canvas with a fresh coat of white gesso and I will think about what my new painting may look like and I might even sketch out a composition. I will also review the past year and decide if I need to make changes, resolutions or set any goals.

Over the last few weeks as 2016 has been drawing to a close, I have been thinking about what I really value and most importantly, what I don’t. I realize that life needs to be simplified by getting rid of things I don’t need. Too much precious time has been wasted on buying, organizing, cleaning and looking for things I can’t find. My closet is full yet I can’t find anything I want to wear.

I want to spend more time observing and experiencing  life through my eyes instead of a camera lens or through a small screen. I wish to talk to my family and friends directly instead of passively seeing their lives through texts or Facebook. I plan to spend more time outdoors, to breathe fresh air, to sweat and to push my body to it’s limits.

The mirror shows that I’m getting older and thankfully, my health is good but I know that life is short. I need to be even more careful about what I eat, drink and do because I don’t really have the time to waste.

My goal for 2017 is to consume less and experience even more. I will minimize time spent on social media and I will make the effort to call, visit or write my loved ones. I will not bring my phone to a restaurant or over to a friends home. I will reduce the amount of things I own and I will have more fun.

Every New Years Day begins with a blank canvas and my plan is to mindfully fill it with love, art, gratitude and purpose.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Blank Canvas

  1. Connie Ullery says:

    Happy New Year!!! Hope it is successful and great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

