Nano Sketching

I like tiny things and recently I found the coolest little pocket palette from Expeditionary Art which I filled with my very favorite watercolors. I needed to find the perfect pouch to store my water brushes, tiny paint kit, fine tipped pens, pencil and tiny journal and after a long search I found a nifty case originally intended for makeup at a thrift store and it was perfect for holding everything I needed. nanosketch5The idea is if I have a little art kit with me at all times I will have more opportunities to sketch and paint. Keeping my nano art kit with me at all times has allowed me to observe a busy world by slowing down just enough to take the time to draw a subject and paint it, wherever that may be. nanosketch1

Nano sketches are quick gesture drawings done with a pencil (no erasing) keeping the lines loose light and free. You can always erase later but I like to get the composition down on the paper very quickly. It is helpful to photograph your subject first so you have a reference to go to when the scene changes suddenly.

The paper you choose can make such a difference and I love bound journals that come in all shapes and sizes as well as paper types.  I found some great unlined micro journals by Paperblanks and discovered they accept watercolor quite nicely but the little Moleskine watercolor journal is the best I have tried so far. nanosketch2It’s also a good idea to keep it simple because the drawing area is so small, a vast landscape may be difficult to capture if not a bit overwhelming. As a long time diary keeper, I like writing my thoughts on the paper as well. Visual journaling is so much more fun and interesting. It’s true, a picture is worth a thousand words!IMG_3932I prefer to use transparent watercolors by Daniel Smith and Holbein. My primary mixing colors are Quinacridone Rose, Hansa Yellow Medium and French Ultramarine Blue or Pthalo Blue and I can make just about any color I want without making mud. I might add more transparent colors, a couple of neutrals and earth tones to the palette but I always have my trusty primary colors with me.

I hope this post inspires you to start sketching every day and if not every day, as often as possible.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

