My Life Depends on It

I’ve been having this on and off again torrid love affair with sweets for years. After being treated for breast cancer ten years ago I met with a nutritionist who cured her own cancer by radically changing her diet. The first thing she said was to avoid sugar at all cost. Cancer loves sugar. I don’t love cancer. So with newfound determination, I made the decision to break up with sugar completely. It wasn’t an easy decision because sugar is prevalent in many foods and temptation is everywhere. Birthday cakes, holiday cookies, celebratory candies and ice cream socials. That little voice in your head is always there to say, “Hey a little won’t hurt you!”

After a few weeks or months, I inevitably let evil sugar creep back into my life in small doses of course, until I found myself at the bottom of a huge jar of Jelly Belly’s with an enormous headache and in a really bad mood. This insanity has been going on for years.

This week, I met with my physician for my annual checkup and she told me I was pre diabetic and the most important thing after exercise was to avoid simple sugars if I wanted to improve my overall health and well being, not to mention the cancer thing. She gladly wrote me a prescription to place on my fridge for support and to remind me that I little might just hurt me after all.

So once again, and hopefully for the last time, I have decided to quite sugar. This time I believe my life depends on it.

rxforlife

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Life Depends on It

  1. Connie Ullery says:

    Hi Karen: Sugar is so difficult to give up. I wish you luck and I know you will be able to do it. You are a very strong person. Later, Connie > WordPress.com > Karen Elaine posted: “I’ve been having this on and off again torrid > love affair with sweets for years. After being treated for breast > cancer ten years ago I met with a nutritionist who cured her own > cancer by radically changing her diet. The first thing she said was to > avoid s” >

    Like

  2. Holly M. says:

    I’m right there with you on this, Karen. Got a big ol’ love-hate relationship with sugar going on. I survived cancer last year, and I know I’ve gotta kick this sugar habit. Maybe we can start a “No Sugar Sisterhood” movement!

    Like

Leave a Reply

