Why I Won’t be Attending my High School Reunion

karenhs

Karen Learns Face Painting

I have finally made the decision not to attend my upcoming 40th high school reunion. It wasn’t an easy decision to make. I thought about reasons why I would want to attend the event in lovely San Diego California and I couldn’t think of one good reason to go, even though several of my friends thought I should.

The gala on the beach will be full of faces I won’t recognize, juicy cocktails I won’t drink and a DJ spinning disco, a style of music I would like forget. The main motivation for going would be to simply feed my curiosity. I could find out who had the most kids or husbands, who succeeded or became famous, who still had their hair and teeth and at this age, who is still alive. All of this is not that interesting since I don’t know most of the people who will be there. I had a small circle of friends and a long term boyfriend who’s life was cut short right after high school so I won’t be seeing my first love either.

I have every reason to go to the event just to “show off” as I am fortunate enough to love what I do for a living, I’m happily married to a gorgeous man (I won’t mention he is my third) I’ve stayed in relatively good shape and have even beat the big “C” but there is no other reason to go than to feed my ego and curiosity, and that’s just not enough. I don’t have the desire to connect with people I had no lasting connection with in the first place even though they are all probably very nice people.

Just to make sure my resolve was correct, I dusted off my old senior class yearbook and turned every page carefully. Amongst many strangers, I found photos of myself, my best friend (we are still close) and the boy I loved. I remember painting sets for the school plays and making a large mural of a glacier on the back wall in the theater. I remember having a secret crush on a guy named Calvin and how short my skirts were. I remember my constant battle with acne and how my platform shoes made me six foot two.

After several moments of remembering high school with the help of a vintage high school yearbook, I feel good about my decision. I am saving my precious time and money and will plan a trip to see my grown children and grandchildren or I will paint another masterpiece and not give another thought of a time 40 years ago when I was just a kid and life hadn’t really begun.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I Won’t be Attending my High School Reunion

  1. Teddy says:

    All good reasons, dear Karen. But most of all, remember that San Diego is merely the gateway to Tiajuana!

    Like

  2. Sylvia says:

    Not a bad way to feel–leave the past in the past, live in the present, create the future, be grateful for it all! Good for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

