On Being Creative

Being creative is a part of my soul. The innate desire to express myself through art and craft has always been the motivation but there are times where that desire just isn’t there and it can be quite disheartening.

There are periods of time in which the only thing I can create is a cleaner and more organized art room. I am learning to accept this “down time” as a part of the creative process but it isn’t always easy.

When ideas are free flowing and I am really on fire, there is an electric energy that propels my existence and it’s exhilarating. When my creative mind is quiet I don’t really feel comfortable and want to make something happen. I force myself to pick up a pencil or brush but the feeling to make a mark is just not there. This is the time where I need to be still and let it go. Creativity always comes back, it may be that she just needs to rest for a while.

Maybe it’s time for me to take an art class instead of teaching it, or really observe and enjoy the world instead of trying to paint it.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

