Why I Make Art

As long as I can remember I made marks on everything. Before I could speak I scribbled in books, on walls, on furniture, on anything. During my school years I made friends through art. It was a wonderful way to communicate and share.
I can’t imagine doing anything else. Making art makes me happy. It takes my mind off other things. It makes life more interesting. I feel connected when I am creating. It’s just who I am.
I don’t make art to make money. The motivation to create is internal and I don’t really understand why I do it so I am fortunate to have a career that allows me to be creative and for that I am very grateful.

Peace. Acrylic on canvas by Karen Elaine.

Peace. Acrylic on canvas by Karen Elaine.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Make Art

  1. Debra Bogie says:

    Karen, I can appreciate why you make art, but more importantly, I am happy that you are generous enough to share the art you make.. Your attitude is authentic and earnest, and so is your art. I have been asked why I create, and have given your same answer: ” the reason is internal, I don’t know why…It’s just who I am.” It has always been who I am. It will always be who I am! I do something creative every day, I have to, it is my soul. Though not always on display, it is always there. You have inspired me to stop apologizing, and to keep my creative juices fresh and alive.
    I have admired your last New Years painting, Peace, more than I can express…Thank you for putting your art into words..

    Like

Leave a Reply

