I Love Not Camping

Nocamping
For some reason I had this romantic notion that camping would be great for my husband and I. We both like nature. We both love the sounds of quiet and enjoy observing animals in their habitat. We both thought that getting away from the routine of home would be a good thing so we ventured off like brave souls into the wilderness with gear in tow and set up a quaint but primitive campsite in the middle of nowhere and did what campers do. We made a nice dinner, hiked and shot a few rounds into cans with our pistols. We sat around our homemade fire for a while noticing the drop in temperature minute by minute. Then, around 10pm when it started to get really cold, we crawled into our puny little tent and tried to settle in for the evening. After realizing that it might be a long night for the both of us we decided to packed up our things in the dark and then drove quietly home. We were able to be comfortable in our own beds by Midnight and we decided we had yet another thing in common. We love not camping!

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Weblogs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Love Not Camping

  1. Lisa Stewart says:

    I camped as a kid and resented every minute of it. Camping is work, it’s no vacation. Now, my idea of roughing it is dirty towels in the hotel room.
    Me love not camping!

    Like

  2. Pam Perry says:

    My idea of camping is a suite in Las Vegas with room service!

    Like

  3. Helene says:

    When I was a Brownie Girl Scout, we went camping at a nearby lake. No tents–just sleeping bags. After it was dark and cold we crawled into our bags, and only then did I realize I was on a rock. Mosquitoes buzzed around my head and everything hurt from laying on the rock. I haven’t wanted to go camping since.

    Like

Leave a Reply

