Happy Valentines Day

I will never forget Valentines Day five years ago, when my friend Julie I and drove two hours south to visit the UCLA cancer center for a second opinion on my cancer diagnosis. We were both newly single as we walked around the hospital gift shop before my appointment and painfully aware of the Valentines day candies and gifts on display. After a few minutes of self pity I made a decision to write a love letter to myself and so did she. We also picked out a gift for ourselves.

When I got home from the appointment I sat down and wrote myself a love letter. It was very hard to do! Later that evening Julie and I shared the letters we wrote to ourselves and enjoyed the gifts we picked out.

It was one of the most wonderful Valentines Day I could remember knowing that I was loved…by my friends, family and most of all, me.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

