From the Sea to the Desert

molokinsnorkle It’s the day after Thanksgiving where I am usually one of the first at the door as “black friday” commences but there isn’t much choice in this small desert town except for Walmart and a few independent shops. Today, I decided to stay away from the retail madness and take a long walk instead. I noticed the absolutely clear blue sky above me and the red rocks of Sedona to the north. Then I suddenly longed for the water. The beach and it’s roaring waves. The salty air and the warm sand sifting through my toes. I thought about how I ended up in the desert, in a small town owning a beautiful home in the middle of a run down neighborhood. In the last four years I have learned to love and appreciate where I live. It’s stark beauty, the changing seasons and the much slower pace.

I have many wonderful memories of the water. I remember the time I shuffled with the stingrays in the Caribbean Sea and snorkeling with Clown Fish in Kawaii’s Molokini Crater. I remember earning my advanced SCUBA certificate in the warm La Jolla canyon waters and frolicking up and down the California coastline. I remember playing with my children just south of the Rincon, one of the most famous surf spots in the world on long summer days.

The older I get, the more I appreciate my memories. I am rich with them. I have been all over the world and have had amazing experiences. I am the author of a book! Oh my god…I forgot about that. I have survived cancer.

The desert is a good place for me. I imagined myself here in a place like this a long time ago…

 

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

