Still Alive after Five!

I just registered as a “survivor” in the Susan G. Komen Race for the cure being held in Portland Oregon this coming weekend. After thinking about it for a few minutes, I realized that I didn’t just survive stage IV breast cancer, I kicked it’s stupid ass! When I was going through chemo, the thought occured to me that cancer was stupid because it kills it’s host. Every day after that, I visualized killing those stupid little dumb ass cells that wanted to take over my body and kept thinking that I am smarter than they are and I am going to kick those little creeps out of my body. I am still alive and well and it’s been over five years since getting that grim diagnosis.
Life is sweet.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still Alive after Five!

  1. Pam Perry says:

    Way to go, Karen! The power of positive thought and visualization works wonders!

    Like

  2. Cathy says:

    It’s slow at work and I got on the computer to surf; I have always loved your way with paper and never missed an episode of Carol Duvall when you were a guest. So I googled you to see what became of you, and was taken aback when I read of your cancer fight. My good friend and fellow nurse, Alice Krumm has chronicled her journey in the book : I DIDN’T ORDER THIS PINK RIBBON.
    Anyway I am thrilled to hear you kicked some cancer ass and hope you continue into old age.
    I’m going to go fold some paper now,…Cheers!
    Cathy, RN

    Like

  3. PennyA says:

    BRAVA!

    Like

Leave a Reply

