Dear Dad, Rest In Peace

Last Sunday I made an unplanned visit to the memorial gardens in Ramona California where my dad was laid to rest almost five years ago. I brought a pretty folded flower to place on his marker ready and willing to say a proper goodbye. It was early, and the caretaker was not in the office to tell me where his plot was, so I walked around stepping carefully around the stone markers on the wet grass looking at all the names of loved ones who had passed on over the years. I could not find his grave after traversing all of the sections and was a little disappointed. Then, I thought to myself "well, at least I am in the neighborhood." I stood in the middle of the quiet cemetery and shouted " Hi Dad it's me! Wherever you are, rest in peace, and all of you other folks too!" Then I placed the flower right at my feet and walked away feeling grateful to be part of the living.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Dad, Rest In Peace

  1. Vivian L says:

    I know the feeling. I lost my mother three years ago. I miss her daily.

    Like

Leave a Reply

