To My Mom

Joanne Elaine Denton

Joanne Elaine Denton

My Mom brought me life, was my biggest cheerleader, and sometimes drove me nuts. She was always my dearest friend. This is one of her works, published by the International Library of Poetry.

Last Nights Kiss
I held you so close I could feel your breath sweep across my cheek, like a soft warm breeze melting the first fragile frost of nightfall. I begged permission from your eyes and absorbed the memory of your face that last night and tucked it warmly around my shivering soul. Slowly, I softly pressed my lips on yours as the howling wind scattered the fluttering leaves and a quivering snowflake floated it’s way to heaven.
~Joanne Elaine Denton
1936-2004

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To My Mom

  1. Ron Perry says:

    Belated Happy Birthday, K! Beautiful poem by your Mom – thanks for sharing.
    Stay well, my friend.
    -Ron

    Like

Leave a Reply

