My Mothers Voice

While listening to the local church chorus singing “Hark the Herald Ages Sing” at the Sunday holiday service I heard a familiar deep resonating voice that was pure and rich in tone. I watched the lips of the singers to see who sang like an angel and realized the sound was not coming from them.
This might sound a little crazy, but it has happened once before. While I was at a memorial service for the fallen California postal workers a couple of years ago I heard my mothers voice booming from the chorus as they sang a tradtional song, one that she used to sing in similar choruses. Tears welled up in my eyes and poured down my cheeks because I could feel her gentle presence as the song boomed into the halls of the large gym.
My mother had an extraordinary voice and I am comforted knowing that her spirit is alive and well and that she is singing in the heavens. I am truly blessed to be able to hear her voice every once in a while knowing that she is still watching over us. I love you and miss you Mom.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Mothers Voice

  1. penny says:

    Yes, I believe you did hear your Mom…Do you ever hear her in your own voice? Sometimes I hear my Mom in my own voice, and it’s always a comforting surprise. Love never ends. Peace, and best wishes for the new year

    Like

Leave a Reply

