Free at Last!

Today, I waited patiently at my Oncologist’s office prepared for the worst but hoping for the best which has been the case every six months for the past three years. As my sweetheart waited with me, we observed two young women crying. I grabbed his hand knowing it was bad news for someone in that office, which I am sure happens all the time. My only selfish thought was, that it could be me and I wasn’t really prepared for that kind of news. After a few moments, he realized it was a dear friend, just diagnosed with incurable metastatic lung cancer. I watched the two men hug and tears fell down my cheeks.
The nurse called my name and we nervously walked back into the room where my blood pressure and weight were taken, then we waited in the small little room for the results tightly gripping each other’s hands. My sweetheart just heard some bad news, what was going to happen next?
The doctor came in and said everything was fine. “Your cancer is gone. You have no evidence of metastatic disease. You are free of cancer. There were no signs of cancer on the CAT and bone scans.”
It feels like a miracle has been bestowed upon me.
Thank you God, I am free at last!

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Free at Last!

  1. Pat says:

    Great news! So happy for you, Karen!

    Like

  2. Anne McClure says:

    I’m soooooooo happy for you and for me too knowing I will still have a distant friend to read about and maybe get together with at the “Cat’s Meow”.Lookin’ good on all fronts…Huh? You deserve it. Hugs, Anne

    Like

  3. Ron says:

    Oh Karen, I am so very happy for you!!!!!
    I’m going for my test on August 16 and can only hope that the news is as good as yours!
    {{BIG HUGS}}
    Ron

    Like

  4. Donna says:

    Dear Karen;
    I am so sorry about your sweetheart’s friend – how sad.
    I am so relieved about you – what great news.
    The yin and the yang once again.
    Love, D

    Like

  5. blb says:

    Fantastic!

    Like

  6. Patty says:

    Great news!!!!! A strong attitude goes a long way waiting at the oncologist’s office. I’m there every four months (for the last 4 years), still going strong!!
    Patty H.
    Carol 06

    Like

  7. Howard Salsitz says:

    Mazel Tov

    Like

  8. lisa mitchell says:

    from one who enjoyed your shows on Craft TV…
    I am so happy to hear you are healthy.
    Best wishes to you in all you do.
    Lisa Mitchell

    Like

Leave a Reply

