Is Cottonwood Ready?

I have to share something that a good friend wrote to me today. It was what I have been trying to say for weeks but couldn’t articulate:
“Santa Barbara to Cottonwood? Although there may be many who may question your sanity and logic for moving to some little desert town in the middle of almost nowhere, I do not. It is the “wise” who embrace change and, for no other reason than the call of the journey, willfully and joyfully propel themselves off the edge of the abyss and into the Great Integrity. How wonderful for us that you have chosen to come here, now.
Cottonwood. Super-heated little speck of dust on the Upper Sonoran Desert between Jerome, the booming little artsy-craftsy, ghost town dangling precariously on the edge of its own precipice, and Sedona, where the color red inspires its own art and the myriad of vortexes inspires bizarre residents to market their artwork.”

Welcome to your new home Karen.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is Cottonwood Ready?

  1. Lynne Everett says:

    Congratulations Karen…why not!

    Like

  2. clintine says:

    I have been waiting for this posting for almost as long as you have been trying to articulate your rationale for trading SB sunsets for Sonora splendor. Ever since I saw the first hint of a move in this space (“the land in AZ is in escrow”),I have bemoaned the fact that when I do return to SB at some point, you will no longer be there. However,I have comfort in knowing that I have already been to Cottonwood TWICE – and didn’t even know anyone there either time. So… (why is it that I need to have a neat little box around my friends so that I know I can always be in contact? I guess I’ll save that question for therapy! lol)
    Karen, the main point I want to make is that you are so fortunate to have such a wise friend in your life who can express thoughts so eloquently. She is such a gift to you in more ways than one.
    Continued Blessings,
    Clintine

    Like

  3. Suzanne says:

    The most important thing is to find a place that feeds your spirit. Cottonwood. Santa Barbara. The city name is less meaningful that how that place makes you feel.
    Hugs!
    Suzanne

    Like

Leave a Reply

