Faith

This evening, just as I was ready to go to bed, the Santa Ana winds started to blow and I was as restless as the leaves swirling about outside. I couldn’t go to sleep early as I had planned. Instead, I thought about stuff…
Earlier this evening, I sat on my sofa for a moment looking outside my large picture window, enjoying the garden I am leaving behind. I saw a white dove circling several times around the fountain searching for a drink of water. She was hesitant to perch on the edge to drink because she lacked the confidence that she would be safe. The strangest thing is that I understood why she never drank from the fountain, even though, I knew that she was indeed, very safe. I am thinking this is all about faith…
Everything will be okay.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Faith

  1. Marc says:

    Often we think of the path in front of us as The Path, and when we encounter a detour, it can be frustrating or otherwise vexing in a way that can consume us. Faith, to me means having a quiet understanding that things don’t always work out the way we want them to… but in the end, they’ll work out the way they always should have. Discovery is not so much a product of our plans, but rather a product of our fate. Faith is not so much trusting in outside forces, as it is in trusting that no matter what life throws at us, we will have the strength to deal with whatever comes our way.
    Karen… your faith in yourself is incredible. Things are what they are and you have made the most of every opportunity. More than that, there cannot be. It’s your Faith that allows you to surf the waves on whatever beach you find yourself… no matter whether they are breaking to the left or right. It’s not so much to just think “outside the box”… you really have to “live” outside of it. The bird at the fountain could not find her way to do so. Your Path has taught you that there is no other way!
    I am so very proud to know you. xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

