Now

Sleep wasn’t easy last night. Every hour, my eyes opened wide in the dark and my mind raced. I kept remembering what my grief counselor told me on Friday. She said all I have is now, and to focus on now. It’s easy to find myself stepping back to the past where nothing can be done to change it and then imagining the future which is really nothing but empty space because it hasn’t happened yet. Then, I force myself to stay in the moment and do what is right in front of me. It’s not an easy thing to do, but as in all things, practice makes perfect.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now

  1. Pat Hacker says:

    Praying. Caring. Crossing fingers. Watching clock. Sending virtual hugs. Holding breath. Wanting to know. Not wanting to know. I am with you every way but physically.
    Peace and love,
    Pat Hacker

    Like

Leave a Reply

