68 pages

68pages_1 After cleaning my Mom’s old apartment the other day, I found this fat paper back book written by Anne Rule. My mom loved reading true crime stories. I started reading the book but was compelled to fold it instead. I stopped folding at 68 pages to honor my mom’s life. It was almost a year ago since I lost her. I miss her so damned much….

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 68 pages

  1. Ron says:

    Karen,
    What a wonderful tribute to your mom. I’m sure she was smiling at you as you folded each page. I’ve also been meaning to tell you, I love “Harbor Bound.” I’m so glad you posted it on your main site.
    -Ron

    Like

  2. Karen says:

    What a wonderful memorial. I can imagine the slow, repetitive rhythm and meticulous attention to the folding — a meditation. My mind doesn’t conjure things with depth and dimension so I loved this for both its form and heartfelt function.
    Thank you for sharing these moments, Karen. Feeling those pangs myself. David Dodson Gray calls it “soft sorrow”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

