Rolling Stones and Oz

Northcarolinamap_1 Keeping busy is a good thing. I am now in North Carolina teaching a couple of workshops and selling art supplies once again. The old saying goes, a rolling stone gathers no moss but I am looking forward to spending a few consecutive nights in my own bed for a change even though the mattress is old and the sheets are worn. There is no place like home, that is for sure.

Tonight, I sit in my hotel room making a big fat mess preparing for a workshop watching the Wizard of Oz and the Wedding Singer. Someone else will clean everything up in the morning after I am gone and will leave mints on my pillow.
Life is good….

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rolling Stones and Oz

  1. gloria says:

    I fell upon your site by looking for origami directions, being an avid “cds” fan, I knew I could depend on you. I’ve been sitting here reading all your blog. “Girl, I’m devistated!” I will have to try this appletini thing. It could add a little joy to the tears for you and my mama, gone now 3 years. Yor’re young, keep up the fight

    Like

  2. gloria says:

    I fell upon your site by looking for origami directions, being an avid “cds” fan, I knew I could depend on you. I’ve been sitting here reading all your blog. “Girl, I’m devistated!” I will have to try this appletini thing. It could add a little joy to the tears for you and my mama, gone now 3 years. You’re young, keep up the fight,

    Like

  3. Gina says:

    Hi Karen –
    It’s Gina (pronounced “Jenna”) from Saturday’s wonderful class on tiny remarkably beautiful booklets.
    I was so excited by everything I learned that when I got home last night I took the little “tails” of paper that were left over when we made rectangles into squares and folded teeny, tiny blizzard books with them. Then after some experimentation, I made teeny tiny jackets for them. So exciting! I kept turning to Jeff and saying “I made it! Look! So small!”
    My first impulse was to write my “thank you” for the class on a tiny book and mail it to you, but me being me (a nosey and rather impatient geek), I first checked out your website this morning and have just now finished reading your blog from end-to-end. Astounding.
    Yesterday in class I truly appreciated the fact that you loved that we were *excited* — that there was none of the “simmer down” that I often sense when ethusiasm bubbles too high. At the time I was thinking — “Now there’s a woman who is strong. She knows it’s ok to be joyous and to delight in the littlest of wonders.”
    And now I know why. Your story is beautiful and encouraging, as are you. The trail you’ve walked of late is not unfamiliar to me, regrettably, as my mom was diagnosed in August with BC. The last few months have been full of waiting and surgery and more waiting and hospitals and … you know. She’s doing well, and I have every reason to believe that she will beat the “bitch” (as you so accurately christened it).
    Your story and spirit give me hope.
    Thanks so much for sharing your art, your skill and your story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

