Pink Toilet Paper

Okay, I have had it with all this pink stuff. Buy pink bracelets, pink this, pink that and now, pink toilet paper. For what? For a cure? I sure hope so… I am not sure I am okay with cashing in on this deadly disease. There are so many of us sisters and brothers suffering and dying from it and no cure in sight.
Cancer is an awful disease that we barely understand. We don’t know the cause and we don’t know the cure. There are so many of us afflicted with it and there are more and more being diagnosed.
What can we do? What can I do?
I am annoyed that there is so much marketing to get people to buy pink merchandise, but how much of it is really going towards the finding of a cure? I saw pink potholders at my local store the other day. Jeez…

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pink Toilet Paper

  1. I hear ya! I try to only buy things endorsed by the Susan G Komen Foundation, at least I know the money goes where it’s supposed to go! Not sure if I could bear pink toilet paper, though.

    Like

  2. Ron says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought all of this pink stuff was getting a bit out of hand. I normally make my charitable donations to Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston (where I was a patient for more years than I care to think about) and more recently to the Lance Armstrong Foundation, but I believe I’ll head over to the Susan G Komen Foundation website and make a contribution in honor of this being Breast Cancer Awareness Month. After all, I’ve lost several dear friends and family members to this awful disease.
    -Ron

    Like

Leave a Reply

