Folding Paper Cranes

Folding Paper Cranes.
60 years ago, on August 6, 1945, Hiroshima Japan received the worlds first nuclear bomb that killed over one hundred and forty thousand people. Three days later the second bomb was dropped on Nagasaki. The world has never been the same.
Over 18 years ago, I was moved by a documentary film on the after effects of the bombings in Japan. I joined a local Peace Resource center the next day. On the evening of August 6, I participated in a local lantern floating ceremony for world peace. It was then, that I folded my first paper crane.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Folding Paper Cranes

  1. Pat says:

    I just finished making my FIRST crane. It’s a good thing that world peace does not depend on the outcome. It looks more like one of the flying creatures that attacked the city in those old Japanese (english dubbed) movies. The big question now is…should I make more or quit while I’m ahead. Or am I behind? Since all things are relative how can I tell?
    I think I will keep my crane (flying monster?) and use it as a pondering point……In the mean time it is a beautiful Saturday and I’m going shopping…
    Pat

    Like

  2. Ron says:

    Oh my goodness, Pat’s comment gave me such a chuckle! I learned to make the flapping crane many years ago, but thanks to your link in this post, Karen, I learned how to make a new crane today!
    -Ron

    Like

Leave a Reply

