Beautiful

I checked into Dr. Deans office today. It was like a spa compared to the cancer center offices, painted in soft tones of pink and original artwork adorning the walls.
I was instructed to undress from the top to the waist and I had a pretty green little robe to wear while I waited for them to call my name.
There were other women waiting too. I wondered if they had gone through a year of hell like I did. I hope that they had not.
I saw Dr. Dean come in the waiting room to tell a woman that everything looked beautiful. I liked the way she stated her results. Beautiful. I was hoping that she would tell me that too, but my waiting had just begun.
A technician called me into the mammography room. It was hard getting those pictures and I didn’t have to smile for any of them. I was glad it was over then off to the waiting room again.
I watched CNN and read People to pass the time. The technician called me in again and said Dr. Dean wants to do an ultrasound. Crap, this is what happened last May, when all hell broke loose. Okay, I smiled and followed her into the room that changed my life forever last year. It had a pretty lace pillow on the examination bed.
Dr. Dean came in and applied the warm gel on my breast. She ran the instrument carefully over my right breast, then on my left where all the trouble had started. After a few minutes she said, “Well it all looks good to me. Looks beautiful”.
That’s what I wanted to hear. Beautiful.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beautiful

  1. Ron says:

    YES! I can breathe easily again (and I’m sure you can, too!). I am so, so very happy for you. Celebrate. Relax. Take time for Karen. Be well.
    Hugs,
    -Ron

    Like

  2. Pat says:

    Beautiful Beautiful Beautiful..what a beautiful word.
    Pat

    Like

  3. Howie Salsitz says:

    Mazel Tov!

    Like

Leave a Reply

