Mom, the Invincible

The air is filled with cool fog this morning. The little droplets dot my glasses as I walk briskly along the shoreline path.
Last night I cried a lot. It had been a couple of months since I shed a tear. The anticipation of going to the Radiologist today who originally diagnosed my cancer brought everything to the surface. I needed to do it. I feel better now. My walk is steady and my spirit is light.
My daughter made me a pretty beaded ring last night. I woke up this morning and saw it on my right finger. This was her way of telling me she cares. She worries too, in her own seventeen year old way.
It must be hard on her, all this drama with my health.
Moms are supposed to be invincible right? I just need to know where I misplaced my cape. It’s got to be around here somewhere.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mom, the Invincible

  1. Howie says:

    Karen,
    I hope today went well for you! My prayers and thoughts are with you.
    Howie

    Like

  2. Pat says:

    That must be the ever famous invisible ‘magic mommy’ cape….it is only seen by people who love us…the magic is in the heart of the beholder…why is it that we moms can soothe others but can’t seem to bring the same peace to ourselves?
    Pat

    Like

Leave a Reply

