The First Walk

I woke up to bright sunshine streaming through the slats of the mini blinds in my bedroom and immediately, I started to stretch my arms, fingers and toes and knew I was going to start moving again like I used to do before cancer. I stretched my legs and back and moved my legs around. “I have to be careful” I thought, as I could feel my bones creaking a bit, but that didn’t stop me from putting on my “Viva La Vida” t-shirt, running shorts and shoes. I strapped on my Ipod and began to walk the familiar route near my home.
As soon as I stepped off my front porch I felt the cool breeze on my face and arms. The sun was bright and I could see the blue green water and islands in the distance. I live in a beautiful place. Paradise.
As I was walking I smiled at everyone I passed. I noticed joggers, walkers, couples and dog owners going along the curved path along the seaside cliffs. Some were sitting on benches reading the newspaper or drinking coffee. I noticed three women walking slowly with canes. I thought about Mom. She didn’t exercise at all and it is well known that exercise increases life expectancy.
I wish she was here so we could walk together, but instead I will walk every day from now, knowing she is with me.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

