I am an adult, finally…I think

The party was wonderful, at least that’s what I hear. I don’t remember sitting down or being in one place for more than a minute or two, but everyone seemed to have a good time. I received some cool presents, a funny song, and got about a hundred loving hugs and kisses. I am blessed to know such wonderful people.

After I dropped my friend off at the airport the next afternoon, I got home and turned on the stereo containing the carefully crafted CD’s I meant to play at the party, poured myself a glass of sangria and cleaned up the the rest of the house. I lit the candles next to my parent’s photographs and I realized that for the first time I was really an adult. I am not someone’s child anymore, at least not in this world.
I do know that they were there with me in spirit wishing their baby girl a very happy birthday.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am an adult, finally…I think

  1. Ron says:

    So glad that you made it through the party and that all went well. When you hadn’t posted anything here for a few days, I was wondering if you were still sleeping off too many appletinis!!!!! Anyway, have a happy day! – Ron

    Like

Leave a Reply

