The Sunday Paper

If the News Press article today gave the impression that I am accepting premature inevitable death, well, that is simply not true. The author called me this afternoon and was also upset with the tone of the headline and the "feel" of the story. Some important things and people were left out and or dramatized, which I suppose is an editors prerogative. I don’t remember giving the author the impression I was going to lose this battle anytime soon.
And to clarify something else. I did not administer a lethal dose of morphine to my mother. My brother and I carefully followed her hospice nurse’s directions when giving her the drug for comfort during her last days. He stepped out to get pizza for the family when she decided to take her last breath, and I was fortunate to be with her alone in the room.
I guess I can’t get too upset about something I can’t change, it’s just not worth it.

I do find that a rolled up newspaper makes great kindling for my backyard fire pit.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sunday Paper

  1. Pam says:

    Karen, I have been following your battle with cancer for several months now and never have I felt that you were giving up or giving in. The editor sounds as if they haven’t been affected by this disease. My mother, age 80 is undergoing treatment for ovarian cancer and my sister-in-law, age 47 has breast cancer. You are all fighting with everything you’ve got. Hang in there.
    I understand that newspapers make a good lining for the bottom of a bird cage!

    Like

  2. Ron says:

    I’m not a subscriber to the News-Press, so I wasn’t able to read the article, but from the headline & 1 sentence synopsis at their website and what you said here, it sounds like the editor really got it all wrong. Those who know you know the truth and I guess that’s all that really matters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

