Power Outages and Powerlessness

Today, I drove through horrendous traffic and finally made it to Ramona, my Dads final resting place. I knocked on the door and my step Mom greeted me with sweet tender hugs and kisses. I realized that my Dad would not be rolling up in his wheelchair to greet me saying “Hi Babe”. I went into his room tonight. I could see dust bunnies, urinals, oxygen tanks and medical supplies all over the place. His last days were brutal. I felt like a lost little girl, looking at the dust covered photographs in his room. My step mom said that I was the other love of his life, besides her. I wish I could kiss him goodnight.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Power Outages and Powerlessness

  1. Cathy says:

    Dear Karen,
    It’s the first I’ve known you to be so down. You are one of the most “powerful” people I know about !!! Maybe in a few days you will be able to get your grove back. Just remember, your mother is with you and you are not alone. I saw your segment on Carol Duvall yesterday about the origami crane desktop mobile. You are so beautiful and full of grace. This is one more bump in your road….please know that my prayers are with you. And we all know what the power of prayer can do….and there is never a power outage with your God!!

    Like

  2. Ron says:

    Karen, I wish I could be there right now to give you a hug and tell you in person not to worry. You are strong, but your job right now is to be near your step-mom and take care of the things that are going on there right now. Your husband / daughter / family’s job right now is to deal with the power outage and possibly-fried computer. While multi-tasking can be good sometimes, not now for you. It’s okay to not be in control of everything. Sometimes, that’s what you need to do in order to be more in control of your own situation. Be well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

