My Father

DadnfoxyMy Dad, Benjamin E. Scott passed away late last night after suffering many years of ill health but stayed strong until the end. Now he is at peace.

He had the greatest sense of humor and everyone he met liked him. He became a bit of a legend in Ramona, his home town for the last 25 years. Even though he had lost both legs, he was able to accomplish complex carpentry, roof work and fix just about everything around the house. He was an amazing handyman. The Ramona police ignored the fact that he was unfit to drive, but let him drive his golf cart around town anyway. When he couldn’t drive the golf cart any longer, he got around nicely in his electric wheelchair. He rigged it with lights so he could go to the county fair on the back roads. He would travel for miles on that thing. He was indeed a character.
I will miss him.

I just want to let you know a little about the man, I call my father.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Father

  1. Ron says:

    My deepest sympathy to you and your family, Karen.

    Like

  2. peony says:

    Dearest Karen,
    My deepest sympathy goes out to you, and my prayers and thoughts are with you and your family. I know this is one of the most dificult periods of your life (perhaps even worse than your cancer and chemo), and I will be praying that it will hurt less and less as time goes on.
    I lost both my parents within a 5 week period, but I was very glad they didn’t have to see me go through my mastectomy, chemo, etc. I think it would have hurt them more than it did me.
    mary beth

    Like

  3. Lynn says:

    Dear Karen,
    I am sending you my deepest sympathies to you and your family. It is such a hard time when you lose a parent. But time does help us get through it. It’s never the same , but we manage to go on because we know that they would want us to do so.And family and friends do help. Hope you are feeling better and better! You are in my thoughts and prayers.Take care, Lynn.

    Like

  4. karen says:

    A friend just sent me the link to your site, saying that she’d thought of me. I wasn’t sure why, but it didn’t matter in the end as I began to explore. Making my way through those glorious “secrets” I stumbled upon your blog link. Then I found this.
    There are no words but still we try, don’t we? Thank you for this glimpse of your dad. Despite your deep sorrow, I’m so glad that you let us meet him. His spirit and courage made me smile.
    I hope that coming here comforts you as well in the days ahead.

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with you. Losing a parent is never easy even when we are ‘all grown up’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

