One Year Ago

It was almost one year ago that I heard my doctor say “you have breast cancer” while driving home from a visit with my mom. I pulled my car over and scrambled for a piece of paper and a pen to write down the names of the surgeon and oncologist.
Everything happened so fast after that. The first surgery, then two weeks later a second surgery, then the news I had to take chemotherapy and, oh God, the chemo! Then the weeks of daily visits to the hospital for radiation. All the blood tests and the scans. I can’t believe I did it. I got through it. I survived. I thrived.
One year ago, I was oblivious to the nightmare that was about to unfold. Today, I am happy to be here, right now, feeling fine.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Year Ago

  1. Bunny says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary. Not in the “scary” way, but in the “you are strong and brave and alive” way. Celebrate your life this weekend – I will celebrate for you too.

    Like

  2. Clintine says:

    Karen, always remember what I wrote to you on the cruise, “…as there are grains of sand, so are there healing thoughts coming your way”. I join the ranks of those who love you. Thank you for the impact you have made on my life – artistic or otherwise.

    Like

  3. Ron says:

    From one survivor to another, “Happy Aniversary, Karen!” Way to go!!!!! (sorry I didn’t get to post this sooner, but my partner and I just returned from a 2-week Mediterranean cruise to celebrate our 25th anniversary. My new favorite place in the world is the island of Mykonos!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

