Wigs no More!

Ktspiked_hair Today, I pulled out some of the hair tools I had stashed in my closet for the last nine months and I found a little flattening iron I used to tame flyaway hairs. Well, today it came in quite handy. Instead of looking like a poodle, and I don’t like poodle, I am able to spike out my hair with the iron and now it looks more like the old me! Maybe I should tip it blonde, or pink.
I appreciate now, more than ever that I am a girl, and I get to mess with my hair.
I still have the nice looking wig sitting in the corner of my room, coiffed and ready, but today I think I am confident enough to never wear it again unless I really want to and definately not because I feel I have to.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wigs no More!

  1. Ron says:

    Karen, From what I can see in the pic, you look fabulous!! When just about all of my hair fell out 20 years ago from chemo, not all of it came back (and none of it was curly!) – top an front are VERY thin. but it looks like you got everything back! Stay well, my friend. Ron

    Like

  2. Marilynn says:

    Remember the day my mother’s hair suddenly “left”…The third chemo treatment seems to be the worst…It wasn’t until then that I realized how important hair was to me and how she later came to realize that her beautiful bald head was her “badge of honor”. When her hair grew back it was totally different, texture, curl, and color!That was almost 20 years ago but I remember every day as though it was more recent.
    Three years ago my husband lost some hair, about half but from all over his head, not just in one spot. That was after his third and final chemo treatment,now he just has a hard time when tests require a vein.
    The “cure” just like the cancer reacts differently to each and every life it creaps into… Not sure why I am writting to you guess I am just so glad to see you looking and sounding in such a good place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

