Shift Happens

For the first time in a long time, I am okay with things the way they are right now. I am not obsessing on the next new toy or item of clothing I want to buy or where I am going to be next week or what I am going to do tomorrow. I am experiencing today, just for today, and today, I don’t have any plans.
It might be that cancer has been a gift in a strange way, because all the stuff I used to fuss over doesn’t mean much anymore. What matters is watching my daughter enjoy a foot spa and color her hair. What matters is petting my kittys soft fur while she wanders in front of the monitor as I type this. What matters is looking outside my window and seeing the beauty of fresh green trees and purple flowers growing in my backyard.
I have experienced a major shift in the way I think and feel about life and I am grateful for what I have and who I am right now.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shift Happens

  1. Pat says:

    Hi, Karen,
    I would like to be able to say something profound at this time, but your words have touched my heart in a way that has turned my thoughts quite inward. God bless you and grant you continued peace.
    Pat

    Like

  2. sharon says:

    I know what you mean. Cancer allows you to give yourself permission to turn in your license to run the world and just say no. You are able to enjoy where you are. Been there done that as they say.

    Like

  3. Fran says:

    I am so happy that you enjoyed your experience with the stingrays. They give me a sense of awe when I am in the water with them.
    Just before my mother died in 98 she sent me a valentine card. I put it away but every now and then when I am sorting or cleaning up a space it appears. It always seems to be in a different place but at a time when she tells me she loves me, it’s just where I need it to be.
    I also wanted to tell you, I am jealous of the green trees and purple flowers as here in Michigan I still have snow. Think of you often and wish you well. Fran

    Like

  4. cindy burns says:

    Hi Karen
    I just found your web site and I was so touched by your writings I had to send you a response. I have watched you on Carol Duvall for a long time and I have always admired your talent. Your story really touched my heart, I think you have great courage, not only for what you have experienced but because you have bared your soul to people you do not even know. I think that alone requires much strength of character. Your experience and sharing will encourage others.I will now be following your web site and I will be praying for your health. cindy b.

    Like

Leave a Reply

