My Conversation with Cancer

This morning, I wrote in the paper journal I keep by my bed  and usually rant and ramble about things but I began a conversation with my cancer that got quite heated. Here is what I wrote:
"I need to put better food into my body to nourish me, not the cancer that might be hanging around in dark corners thinking it might want to keep me as it’s host. No way! Sorry about that, you sick little pathetic cells. Leave me immediately. Just shrivel up and die! You can’t have any part of me. I am not going to let you. So go away and get out right now before I get really pissed and zap you with more chemicals or radiation. Disappear into peaceful nothingness. That’s where you belong, Destroyer of lives. So get the hell out of my life. You already killed my mother. I won’t let you kill me."
Now, I have discovered the way I am going to beat it. I am going to beat it with my mental shovel, scoop it out of my body and throw it away. And, I am going to eat better.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Conversation with Cancer

  1. Mary says:

    Karen:
    Congratulations on your mental attitude. That toughness will promote strength that will help push out negative thoughts and allow positive feedback and hope. It’s a great self-help loop.
    The idea of a mental shovel is excellent. A worker needs good tools.
    However, I don’t know where the line is drawn re: Brussels sprouts.

    Like

  2. Nancy says:

    Karen, I just discovered your site. It’s so very interesting and will be helpful for other women going through breast cancer. I know because I’m a survivor of nearly 10 years. I was fortunate to have accidently found the one inch lump on my breast bone and raced to the doctor. I had a masectomy a month later. I was lucky enough not to have the chemo and radiation. But I went through a rollar coaster of emotions no man could understand. I lost my job of 19 years because I couldn’t perform as I had before my surgery. The boss “man” had no patience. Bless you and your future. I want to see more of your fantastic demonstrations on craft shows. You’re great!

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    Karen, I have been following your writing for some time now.You are inspiration. Keep the attitude, it can kill the pathetic little cells! Take good care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

