Second Opinion

I have decided to ask for all of my medical records since last May so that I may obtain a second opinion regarding my breast cancer. All the scans, lab reports, the surgery stuff, chemo concoctions, all of it.
I am very pleased with the treatment I have had so far, but what if somewhere, somehow a report slipped through the cracks or a scan was read incorrectly and not caught? I know this can happen because it happened to me a month ago.
I just want to be reassured that I am on the right track, and if not, to make sure I get on the right track. I want to do everything possible to ensure I live a long and healthy life.
My hair is coming in a silvery grey and I have mixed feelings about coloring it. I kind of feel that I have earned the silver crown and don’t want to mess with it!

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Second Opinion

  1. Mary says:

    That sounds like an excellent plan. You have the ability to maintain excellent records, and since you have that skill, it makes sense to use it. (Humans can cross-reference faster than a computer.)
    Re: the hair. My mom has a “life altering” [vs. life threatening] situation, and, since she was diagnosed, has quit dying her hair and perming. Her reasoning was that because she didn’t know for certain what those chemicals were doing to her system, she couldn’t justify continuing the process. It’s a personal decision, but it made sense to her. She went from an auburn sort of curly poodle look to a silver-grey modified Buster Brown, and looks adorable.
    Our household is praying for you!

    Like

  2. Margie says:

    Great move! I am the mother of 2 dtrs who have battled the Big C AND the system. You are the captain of this ship and as such get back into control of your life! My prayers are with you.

    Like

  3. Cecile T. Chapman says:

    Karen,
    I was diagnosed with breast cancer in Oct., 1980 and was told it had spread. I was told if I would take all of the treatments my doctor recommended (he was the “Second Opinion” I had sought), he would try to keep me alive for 18 months until my youngest child would graduate from high school. I ran the Whole Ten Yards and won the fight.
    It has been 24 years, and the cancer has never come back. It proves God is in control of your life, not man. God has given me peace that the human mind cannot understand. You only have to ask for it.
    I will be praying that you continue to enjoy the peace you seemed to have found, and I will remember you in my prayers.
    God bless you, and I shall continue to enjoy your appearances on the Carol Duvall Show.
    Cecile of Ceci Creations

    Like

  4. Ron says:

    Karen, Yes, go for the second opinion; I did both times I was diagnosed and even though the doctor’s all agreed, I felt so much better inside. As for the hair, I just saw my friend Sue on Sunday (her last radiation treatment was on Monday) and her hair is coming in silvery as well, and she looks fabulous. So I say, go for it – you’ve earned the silver. Wear it proudly! Keep plugging, kiddo, we’re all in your corner pulling for you! – Ron

    Like

Leave a Reply

