Got a Diploma

RadationkwaveMonday morning, after my last radiation treatment, I hugged the radiology tech and told him I hope that we see each other again in other circumstances of course. His laughter and humor made the experience as pleasant as it could be.
Then it was time to see the doctor for a last check up of the "burn area". He inspected my underarm and checked for swelling. He said it all looked pretty good and gave me a cheerfully printed certificate for completing treatment with patience and humor.
He wished me luck and I tearfully walked through the halls hugging the nurses and showing everyone at the Cancer Center my new "diploma".
It’s the end of a long bumpy road in this journey. Now, I can take a big breath and try to get back to a normal life. Whatever normal is!

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Got a Diploma

  1. peony says:

    Congratulations! Are we all invited to the graduation festivities?

    Like

  2. Suzanne Lamar says:

    That is the best news I’ve had all week. Congratulations Karen! 😉

    Like

  3. Bonnie Sliper says:

    Karen,
    What a wonderful feeling this must be to have this behind you. Congratulations!!! You and your family will continue to be in our prayers.
    Bonnie Sliper

    Like

  4. Ron Perry says:

    Congrats, Karen!! I’m so happy you’re done with radiation. I’ll have an appletini tomorrow evening for you. You’re beating this thing good, kiddo – you will survive!!! A big hug and prayer to you! – Ron

    Like

  5. Leona Kohn says:

    Karen,
    Congratulations. I’m so happy for you. I think of you often and admire your courage and determination. You are a survivor. A big hug to you from Texas.
    Leona Kohn

    Like

Leave a Reply

