Stage II to Stage IV

I was invited to the club I never wanted to join. I have been diagnosed metastatic cancer. The one they say has no chance of a cure, but only comfort and extension of life. According to the statistics , I have a 16% chance of living past five years.
WELL, DAMMIT, I AM NOT A STATISTIC!

I am strong, and I am healthy. This thing will not win. I will continue the battle over cancer until it runs and hides into eternity.
It better be afraid of me…

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stage II to Stage IV

  1. Jan says:

    Karen,
    Words cannot express the admiration I have for your strength, humor and grace. I feel I’ve “known” you for some time..as I’ve watched you on tv and tried to keep up with everything you’ve touched (in a creative sense). I knew you were talented and someone I’d feel at home with, but not until I found your blog did I realize how truly lovely and special you are. Thank you so very much for having the guts to share your life with me (and a kazillion others). I’m a cancer survivor and lost my mom to cancer many years ago. It’s an ugly thing for sure…and NO match for you! I have no doubt that God holds you gently in His loving arms and will provide everything you need! You’ve been in my thoughts and prayers constantly..and will continue to be.
    Jan @->–

    Like

  2. Robin Clendenning says:

    All of us Cat’s Meow friends are praying for you and keeping you in our heart. Sharon keeps us up to date, she truly cares and wants us all to know how you are doing so that we can know how to pray for you. I’m looking forward to seeing you in April and maybe in Feb. too.
    Know that God has you in His hands and He is always good even when things look the
    darkest. Here is a verse that you can pray back to Him whenever you feel down. from Jeremiah 29:11-13 “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.”
    With love from, Robin

    Like

  3. penny willoughby says:

    Sending you my warmest thoughts, my heartfelt prayers and the hope that you will never give up. A miracle happens every day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

