My Mother, Joanne Elaine Denton passed away from cancer at 6pm Thursday, December 9th. She waited until I was in the room, then she peacefully took her last breath. She did not suffer long, and for that I am grateful. I will miss her beautiful voice, her friendship and her warm, loving touch.
As you might imagine I am in a bewildered state of grief and shock that she is no longer in this world. Yesterday, the family went through her things and saved all of her poems and short stories for me to compile into a memorial book to give to family and friends. Last night, I stayed up and read some of them. She was a great writer to my suprise.
I  just finished ten radiation treatments and I have a nice little suntan under my arm and my hair is starting to grow back, but I am not quite ready to face the world without a wig! I will be getting a PET scan early next week to make sure there is no cancer anywhere else so I can be done with this business. I told my Mom  as her spirit was leaving her body, that I would beat this goddamned cancer for the both of us!

And I will!

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Pat says:

    My prayers are with you. I’m sorry for your loss. I wish the best for you with the rest of your treatments.

    Like

  2. Deb says:

    My thoughs and prayers are with you. I am so very sorry for the loss of your mother. I am sending you good wishes, happy memories and patience.
    I know that you are stronger than the cancer. Your creativity will pull you through.
    From one origami folder to another.
    I wish you all the best.
    A loyal fan

    Like

  3. Mary Beth says:

    Oh Karen, I am so sorry for your loss. My prayers and thoughts are with you and with your family.

    Like

  4. linda says:

    i am very sorry for your loss and all that you are going threw, but just believe it will be ok. i seen you on the carols craft show and you seem like a very nice lady and very talented. i wish i had your courage.will pray for you linda a fan

    Like

Leave a Reply

