Made Art Today

Chemocards
I spent four hours in the chemo room with the IV solution dripping slowly into my bruised veins. They gave me a lot of Benadryl to help me sleep but the chairs were about as comfortable as those in an airplane. I don’t know about you, but it is hard to sleep in an airplane no matter how many cocktails may be consumed!
After I got back from the hospital, I started getting ready to attend a trade show in Las Vegas, one that I am really looking forward to. Since I will be pretty useless my tomorrow night and through Saturday from the side effects of the chemo, I have been busily organizing my fashions, and packing all my demo supplies so that I can have them ready by tomorrow afternoon.
While I was packing my supplies, I got distracted by my art room and started altering some little barbie playing cards in a pink plastic case that my friend Sally gave me. I cut out words from magazines and combined them with images, then laminated them. It is about my current journey and is full of humor, inspiration and a little pain. I realized it was nearly one in the morning but would have played till three but my body told me that I need the sleep. It does feel good to experience the creative juices flowing again!

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Made Art Today

  1. Marv Briggs says:

    I have signed up for the Carol Duval cruise just to meet you!! I have enjoyed your work on her show for a long time and was so excited to think I might be able to have a class with you. My prayers are with you every step of the way. May all the angels surround you with loving arms. Your inspiration comes through in every way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

