Generous Spirits

Since my cancer was diagnosed, I have received countless cards, flowers, presents, and generous gifts of time and spirit. At first, I found it difficult to be on the receiving end without the pressure or desire to give something back right away. Someone wise told me that it is quite allright to receive, and someday I will be able to be on the giving side again. Right now, my energy should be focused on healing which is a daunting task in itself.
Then I remembered when my friend Steve was ill with advanced cancer. He was surrounded by many loving people to help him on his journey. I remember that he was not alone, and in his last days he had lived so much life with the support of loving friends and family.
The generous spirits of my loved ones, friends, and colleagues have helped to make this journey much less frightening. People have made me laugh, cry and have reached out their loving arms to comfort me and I am grateful. Thank God, I have a good prognosis and I will be around for a long time, but still have some hard days ahead, Thank you to everyone, for being there.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

