Missing the Party

A beautiful outdoor fountain complete with a spitting frog was delivered to my house by two friendly guys in a big burgundy truck this afternoon. I painted it with a wash of acrylics so that it had looked like it had been there for years and I plugged it in after I filled the big bowl with cool water. It looked and sounded wonderful, the perfect finish for my little peace garden. To top it off, I drove to the home improvement store, bought a funny looking horsetail plant to go next to the fountain and a purple glass candle holder just because it was pretty.
I kept thinking about all my friends in Chicago today working and playing hard as I was doing more solitary and serene things here at home. My heart ached to be there and at the same time I was okay with being here. The only time I really felt that I was missing something was later in the evening when I knew that my favorite party of the year was in full session. It’s a party where I could dance all night and be silly with my friends, but this time the party would go on without me. Instead, I basked in a warm lavender bath, lit a candle, poured a glass of carrot juice and gave toast to all my hard working, loving friends.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Missing the Party

  1. Melissa says:

    Tonight they will all toast you……for your strength, your courage, your dignity and your heart!
    To you our friend,
    The Cat’s Meow Gang

    Like

Leave a Reply

