The image in the mirror

Well, today went just fine. I was able to update a couple of websites, organize my studio, groom my cat and even grocery shopped with my daughter. I kept thinking to myself “Jeez, I had chemo yesterday, how can it be that I am still walking around doing stuff?”
My friend Carol Duvall told me to print out a picture of me smiling in my new blonde hairdo and stick it in the mirror. If I ever feel like I am not myself, to look at the picture, instead of in the mirror and remember who I really am. I think that’s a great idea!

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The image in the mirror

  1. Lynne says:

    Karen, Came across your website during a search for Mizuhiki. You have inspired me to experiment with this material using it in my basketry. Have made some wonderful baskets using Mizuhiki.Have watched you on Carol Duval show and never miss a segment you are on. I was just through ductal breast cancer with my best friend so your journey is a familiar one to me. She is through the chemo, has had the reconstruction and has had her first clear check-up. Her hair is growing back and beginning to feel her old self again. I keep you in my thoughts and look forward to your new posts.

    Like

  2. Arleen says:

    Hi Karen, I feel I know you in person because I see you on TV with Carol Duvall. The news about your cancer hit me hard and I started to feel very emotional about it.
    I was diagnosed with melanoma cancer and I had a radical vulvectomy this April. Very scary times. I cried and cried. The surgery took care of the melonoma so there is no need for drugs or chemo.
    As I read your story, I think you are a brave woman and if I ever need chemo, I wish I can have the ‘Karen’s attitude’.
    My thoughts are with you and I will follow up on your story.
    Take good care of yourself.

    Like

  3. Arleen says:

    Hi Karen, I feel I know you in person because I see you on TV with Carol Duvall. The news about your cancer hit me hard and I started to feel very emotional about it.
    I was diagnosed with melanoma cancer and I had a radical vulvectomy this April. Very scary times. I cried and cried. The surgery took care of the melonoma so there is no need for drugs or chemo.
    As I read your story, I think you are a brave woman and if I ever need chemo, I wish I can have the ‘Karen’s attitude’.
    My thoughts are with you and I will follow up on your story.
    Take good care of yourself.

    Like

  4. Arleen says:

    Hi Karen, I feel I know you in person because I see you on TV with Carol Duvall. The news about your cancer hit me hard and I started to feel very emotional about it.
    I was diagnosed with melanoma cancer and I had a radical vulvectomy this April. Very scary times. I cried and cried. The surgery took care of the melonoma so there is no need for drugs or chemo.
    As I read your story, I think you are a brave woman and if I ever need chemo, I wish I can have the ‘Karen’s attitude’.
    My thoughts are with you and I will follow up on your story.
    Take good care of yourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

