Good News

Today, I had good news for a change. The eight lymph nodes that were taken from under my arm during the second surgery all tested negative, and my oncologist called to tell me that my HER-2 gene tested normal which is very good news. I am learning more and more about this every day.
My doctor said I still need to have chemotherapy and radiation, but my prognosis is much better than they first thought. Glad I was kept out of that loop! He told me before surgery the other day that the Histologists in the O.R. (during the first surgery) were saying “Oh, she has a positive Sentinal Node, not good.” This is why I had to come back to get more nodes out. He was glad to give me the news that the remainder of the nodes tested negative for cancer ~she takes a deep breath and lets out a loud whew~
I am sporting a sassy short hair cut today and now, I am looking forward to shopping for wigs and fun head covers.
I finally have the feeling that everything is going to be just fine.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good News

  1. Sharon Fitzgerald says:

    Great news! We are all sighing with you!

    Like

  2. Kathy says:

    Wonderful, wonderful news.

    Like

  3. Linde Caravella says:

    Not a day goes by that your name does not come
    up amongst “the girls”. We are all thinking
    of you with heartfelt wishes and prayers. Today’s news is great. I feel sighs of relief
    from far and wide. It is more great to hear
    you say you feel everything is going to be fine.
    That is the best attitude yet. Sending a smile
    and a hug.
    Linderella (Oakhurst)

    Like

  4. Melissa Cash says:

    Good news indeed! We are all thinking about you and keeping you in our thoughts and prayers. Sending good vibes your way!
    Hugs,
    Melissa

    Like

Leave a Reply

