Chemotherapy and Beyond

icandoit2
I visited my Oncologist on friday and got more details than I can remember on the chemotherapy and radiation treatment I will be receiving in the next few months. She told me I was strong enough and young enough, so she recommends the strongest type of chemo agent possible, eight cycles every two weeks for the first round, followed by another cycle, then radiation after that.
She told me to forget about keeping my hair and that I should cut it off or shave it when the chemo starts. She gave me a long list of side effects to expect and then she told me some of the other side effects that could occur, which scared me. She said that I found the cancer early enough, so it is curable, which is the good news.
I will be at battle for the next few months, hunkering down in my home like a soldier under heavy artillery fire, so I thought I would make preparations. This weekend I bought a new bedspread, a pink robe and jammies and cleaned my studio. I started putting labels on all the supply drawers so that if I feel good enough to create something, I can enlist my family to find the right supply for the job. I know I can do this, I must do this…

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

