Life is Just Ducky

ducky Today, I attended the Cancer Center of Santa Barbara event, “Viva La Vida, a Celebration of Life”. I walked around with my family, enjoyed music, ate and painted a funny pot with a little rubber duck glued on the top.
Now, when it comes to this kind of thing, I become very serious and want to make sure I walk away with a work of art. The tables were crowded with all kinds of people, from all walks of life and were sitting there painting their hearts out for the same reason. They were a survivor or a loved one of a survivor.
I just started scumbling purple dimensional fabric paint on the terra cotta pot and then I glazed it with a nice looking pink. The yellow rubber duckie on the top was becoming more odd than before, so I thought I would paint some rubber duckies on the side of the pot. Then, the phrase came to me and I wrote, “Life is Just Ducky”. Everyone at the table thought it was so clever! I had a great time today being with my family and doing what I love.

About Karen Elaine

Artist, author and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

